Background/Foreground

So I thought maybe it would be interesting to show the background before it becomes semi-obscured with black lines. I complete, a non-representational composition.


I draw the cells on with chalk and then go over that with black paint. The chalk lines can be wiped off with a wet rag after everything’s dry. The right hand image is not quite finished, but once the composition is down it’s just about going over and over the lines. It needs to be really black in order to really create the visual impact that I want. There’s a push/pull between the background and foreground that’s really visually exciting to me.

Check out my current gallery for the other paintings in my self portrait series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Painting

Leave a Reply

