Cumberland….

cumberland
Sigh….How do I miss thee? Let me count the ways. It’s the most dismally poor and depressed little/big town in Western Maryland, the former home of factories and industry. But It’s nestled in the mountains, and surrounded by state parks with a university right next door. There is such a abnormally strong focus on the arts. I guess it makes sense though, artists are useful in revitalizing communities. If you look at what’s been happening in Baltimore, especially if you’re familiar with the B-more of yesteryear. http://www.creativealliance.org/ & Patterson Park

But back to Cumberland. I am jumping at the chance to enter this exhibition at the Saville Gallery. Some of my former professors I’m sure will be there, since some of the awards are sponsored by them. It will feel good having my art up there since I can’t be. Hopefully I get in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Leave a Reply

