The Scarecrow Has Landed

I dropped off my scarecrow “Red Panda and Scared Crow” at the Atlanta Botanical Gardens yesterday. I have some pictures to share, of the process and the finished product.

First I created chicken wire skeletons to support the red panda, crow, and cupcake.

Then I covered them with strips of paper grocery bags, then stuffinz got glued to that, and then I covered the stuffinz with plastic grocery bags. The sculpture has to sit out in the elements for a month and I tried my best to make it as sturdy and water resistant as possible.

The fun part was gluing the outer layer of fabric on, and sewing the facial features. After everything was finished the whole thing got a spray down of Scotchgard.

2 Comments

Filed under Animals, Art

2 responses to “The Scarecrow Has Landed

  1. Jo

    I really loved this. I am a craft person and am alway looking for fun ideas. Keep creating! thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

